Discrimination means treating a person 'less favourably' than someone else, because of protected characteristics outlined in the Equality Act 2010. 

Discrimination law (Equality Act) protects people against discrimination at work based on these characteristics.

The Equality Act 2010 highlights 9 protected characteristics:
  1. Age
  2. Gender
  3. Race
  4. Disability
  5. Religion
  6. Pregnancy and maternity
  7. Sexual orientation
  8. Gender reassignment
  9. Marriage and civil partnership

Discrimination that occurs because of one or more of the above characteristics is unlawful under the Equality Act. the Act protects every person from being discriminated against. 

If you are treated unfavourably because someone thinks you belong to a particular group of people with protected characteristics, this is also unlawful discrimination.

As an employee you are protected from discrimination and are entitled to a fair and impartial investigation if you feel you have been subject to discrimination.

ACAS provides information and advice about discrimination at work to help everyone understand their rights and responsibilities. 

There are two ways you can tell us what happened